How can I test my equipment and connection?

Support Center > Tips and Settings

Published 01/10/2014 at 12:45am UTC

Page viewed 3208 times

Details

We highly encourage new users to test their equipment and connection before the start of their first videoconferences. While you can always contact our Support team by calling (888) 540-2829 or e-mailing support@securevideo.com to ask for an orientation of the system, you can also test your connection on your own if you would prefer.

 

These instructions are intended for account holders. If you are a session participant, please follow the procedures in How do invitees join a videoconference session? (You can enter the waiting room before your session time to test your own connection.) You can also request a session with a SecureVideo support agent for a live test.

Answer

As a host, you can create a session and connect to it yourself as many times as you like. As long as a second participant doesn't connect to your test session, it will not count as a billable session. (As a note, sessions with the Support team will also never count as a billable session!)

 

1. On your Dashboard, use the "New Session Now" button.

The New Session Now button near the bottom-middle of the page

 

 

2. In the pop-up that appears, enter "Test" (or something else that you can't confuse as a real person) as the participant name and select the option, "System should not send invite". Then use the "Save" button in the lower right-hand corner.

Add Session Participant message

 

 

4. On your Dashboard, use the "Connect" button on the participant tile for "Test".

The "Connect" button

 

 

5. There will be a popup warning you that your patient is not in the waiting room yet, but you can connect by using the "Connect Anyway" button in the lower right-hand corner of the message.

Screencap showing popup warning

 

 

6. Once your video tile launches, you can see how your audio and video looks on your own. 

 

7. Use the "Disconnect Session" button at the bottom of the Dashboard page to disconnect from your test session. (A session is only billable if a mutual connection is made--by both the host and the participant--so this session will not appear on your statement.)

  • Note: you can also wait for the system to disconnect you automatically in a few minutes, if it detects that you're not connected to anyone for that time.

"Disconnect Session" button at the bottom of the Dashboard

 

 

This article was last reviewed by our Support team on December 30, 2015.