Recordings: Record a session (Zoom)

Support Center > About SecureVideo Features

Published 01/27/2017 at 11:58pm UTC

Page viewed 870 times

Details

The Recording Feature is available for an additional monthly fee, allowing sessions to be recorded by the session host. To request a quote to enable recording, or to disable recording on your account, please contact our Sales Team at (888) 200-7730, or info@securevideo.com .

 

Our recording feature works differently according to the videoconferencing engine connected with your account. The two choices are Zoom or VSee, and the instructions below are applicable to the two possible options on Zoom-accounts: local recordings and cloud recordings. This must be configured for your account by a SecureVideo staff member.

  

Any recordings stored with SecureVideo are stored in a HIPAA-compliant Amazon S3 vault. By default, they are accessible only to the session host and Account Administrators (and if enabled, clinical supervisors), but it is possible to allow users to securely share the recordings with other users. 

 

Local recordings are stored on the host's computer only, and the host is responsible for providing security for them--as local recordings are stored outside of the SecureVideo environment, they are not covered by our Business Associate Agreement. The local recording feature can be enabled for free by contacting support@securevideo.com .

 

You may also be interested in:

 

Answer

 

 

Cloud Recording

When scheduling a session

1. Click on the "Videoconference" tab.

 

2. Use the "New Session Now" or "New Scheduled Session" button to create a new session.

New session buttons

 

 

3. The first message that appears will ask the user to choose if the session will be recorded or not (defaults to "Do Not Record this Session"). 

  • This example uses "New Scheduled Session." The prompt for a "New Session Now" would not ask for the date/time.
  • For security purposes, once the session has been created, you will not be able to deselect the recording option.  If you need to change it, you will have to cancel the session, create a new one, and select "Do not record this session."

 Record this Session radio button

 

 

4. Invitations to participants will include notices that the session will be recorded. A note will also be visible to participants on the waiting room page, and to hosts on their Dashboard.

A recorded session on the Dashboard

 

 

During a session

1. Once the session has started, move your cursor over the video windows so that the extended menu panel appears below. 

 

2. Click on the Record button to start recording. 

 Recording button

2a. If you would like to pause the recording at any point, click on the "Pause" button. Click the "Resume" button to resume, and the "Stop" button to end the recording. (If you end the session without stopping the recording, the recording will automatically stop.)

 Pause button           Resume button

 

3. Once the session has ended, the recording file will be uploaded to your account. If notification setting is enabled, you will receive an email once it is available for viewing

 

 

Local Recording

1. Once the session has started, move your cursor over the video windows so that the extended menu panel appears below. 

 

2. Click on the Record button to start recording. 

 Recording button

2a. If you would like to pause the recording at any point, click on the "Pause" button. Click the "Resume" button to resume, and the "Stop" button to end the recording. (If you end the session without stopping the recording, the recording will automatically stop.)

 Pause button           Resume button

 

3. Once the session ends, the recording file will be finalized and you will be prompted to save it to your computer. Select "Desktop" in your directory so that it'll be easier to find later. 

Selecting the folder to save the recording to

 

 

4. Follow the instructions in Recordings: Upload a recording file if you would like to securely store the recording with SecureVideo.

 

 

Allow participants to record

In order to allow a participant to record, both you AND your participant must be on a computer, not a tablet or smart phone, and only the Local Recording option (not cloud recording option) should be enabled on your organization account. 

1. On a Windows computer, right-click on the video window of the participant you want to allow recording for, and click "Allow Record".
On a Mac computer, left-click on the video window of the participant you want to allow recording for, and click "Allow Record".

Allow Record option

 

2. Your participant should see a little message on their end confirming they've been allowed to record, and can click on the Record button to record.

Recording button

 

This article was last reviewed by our Support team on October 27, 2017.