Microsoft Edge: Disable "Did you mean to switch apps?" message

Support Center > Tips and Settings

Published 08/26/2015 at 9:45pm UTC

Page viewed 5405 times

Details

This article applies to users running Windows 10, and using the Microsoft Edge browser.

 

When starting a session (either by clicking "Enter Waiting Room" or the "Connect" button), you see this message (showing "zoom" or "vsee"): 

Did you mean to switch apps?

 

There is no option on the message to prevent it from being shown in the future, so it will appear every time you want to start a session. This support article will show how to disable the message from within Internet Explorer on your computer, which will cause this message to stop appearing in Edge.

Answer

 

If you are a session host (you have a SecureVideo account)

1. In the lower left hand corner of your desktop, enter "Internet Explorer" into the search bar. Click on "Internet Explorer" when it appears in the search results.

Searching for Internet Explorer

 

 

2. Go to www.securevideo.com in Internet Explorer and click "Log In" in the upper right hand corner.

 

  

3. Click "Connect" on a session. (If you participant is not in the waiting room, click "Connect Anyways" on the message that appears so that VSee will be prompted to launch.)

Connect Anyway

 

 

4. On the next message that appears, uncheck the box next to "Always ask before opening this type of address." and then click "Allow". 

Always ask message

 

The next time you click on "Enter Waiting Room" to launch VSee in Microsoft Edge, you will not see the permissions message in that browser either!

 

 

5. If you're not starting a real session, properly close VSee by using the "Disconnect Session" button at the bottom of your Dashboard.

Disconnect Session

 

 

 

If you are a session participant (you do not have a SecureVideo account)

 

1. In the lower left hand corner of your desktop, enter "Internet Explorer" into the search bar. Click on "Internet Explorer" when it appears in the search results.

Searching for Internet Explorer

 

 

2. In the Internet Explorer browser, go to your email to open the "Join Session" link.

  • Or select the URL from the top of the Microsoft Edge browser, and right-click to copy it, like in the below image. 

Right click to copy

 

Then in Internet Explorer, double-click in the URL bar to select all the text, and right-click to paste.

Paste into IE

 

 

3. Click the "Enter Waiting Room" button in Internet Explorer. 

  • Note: your provider's button might be a different color.

Enter Waiting Room button

 

 

4. On the message that appears, uncheck the box next to "Always ask before opening this type of address." and then click "Allow". 

Always ask message

 

The next time you click on "Enter Waiting Room" to launch VSee in Microsoft Edge, you will not see the permissions message in that browser either!

 

 

5. If you are not waiting for your provider,  properly close VSee by using the "Disconnect Session" button at the bottom of the waiting room page (underneath the "Enter Waiting Room" button).

 Disconnect Session button

 

 

This article was last reviewed by our Support team on August 26, 2015.